What Happens When A Text Message Is Sent By A Number That Is Not Opted In?

When an inbound text message (what the industry calls "mobile-originated" or "MO" for short) arrives in the TextPower system we check to see if the number is opted into any keywords.  

  1. If yes (the number is opted in):
    1. If the number's routing configuration is set up as a "UserReply" we respond with the message that has been entered into our system. 
      1. If the message is the keyword it responds with the UserReply.
      2. If the message is STOP, QUIT, END, CANCEL or UNSUBSCRIBE we then remove the number from the opt-in list and mark it as opted-out.
      3. If the message is not the keyword, nor an opt-out message, nor a HELP message then the UserReply is sent in return.  
    2. If the number's routing configuration is set up as a POST we send the information to another server as determined by the configuration provided to us during the account setup.  (Other actions can occur from here.)
    3. If the MO is "HELP" then a reply message containing the keyword-specific HELP content is sent.
  2. If no (the number is not opted in):
    1. If the message contains the keyword the number is opted into the keyword database and the UserReply established in the configuration for that keyword is sent as a reply.
    2. If the code to which the message was sent is a shared short code then the universal error message for that shared short code is sent.
    3. If the code to which the message was sent is a dedicated code (either a short code or a toll-free number) then the error message specific to that dedicated code is sent to the user telling them that they are not opted into any keywords on that dedicated code. 
    4. If the MO is "HELP" then we respond with the help message entered for that shared or dedicated short code or dedicated text-enabled toll-free number.  
      1. If the code to which the message was sent is a shared short code then the universal message for the short code is sent.
      2. If the code to which the message was sent is a dedicated code (either a short code or a toll-free number) then the message specific to that dedicated code is sent.
Have more questions? Submit a request